Skip to content

Depression and Suicide

August 18, 2014

Hi, Friends! I shared this on my Facebook page and I wanted to share it here as well. I did a radio interview a few days ago about suicide and depression.  Please take the time to listen and to share. My ministry’s mission is two-fold… to bring hope to the hurting and to help educate people so they can better minister to the needs of the hurting. If you don’t deal with depression yourself, there is info. in this message that can help you to understand what others go through so you can offer help to those in need around you.

Friends, there is so much of my story that I have never shared, but my son and I have both dealt with depression and suicidal feelings in our lives. I believe what I dealt with,( which was due to different traumas in my life), helped me to understand what my son deals with because of his disabilities. When my son was at his worst and struggling to hold on to life itself, we faced stigma, lack of understanding and lack of compassion for what my son was going through. We have known the pain of being ostracized and people saying hurtful and insulting things because they didn’t understand the things my son has dealt with since a young age. I do understand so much of what people write and share with me from personal experience as well as from a parents perspective. God wastes nothing in our lives and everything I have been through, God has used to help others and I am so blessed and grateful for that.

The most important part of my message is this…there is hope in Jesus…He Is faithful…He sees us through things that we can’t imagine ever enduring, let alone overcoming…He walks beside us in the dark valleys and He leads us through them until we can see the light of His love displace the darkness…He makes a way where there seems to be no way… He does bind our wounds and turn our mourning to joy. He redeems everything the enemy means for our harm. I’m here to share the good news that Jesus is our hope and He gives what the world cannot give. We need only call out to Him and cling to Him and He will give us His strength to see us through everything we may face in this life. When we are in that pit of despair, we can’t see how things can ever be good again, but God has a good plan for your life.  He has a way to turn things around and work it all together for good for those who love Him. When you can’t see a way, then please trust the Lord…He sees what you can’t and He does not fail His children. We just have to trust Him..You are not alone.

In His love,

Debbie

http://soundcloud.com/shellienichol/debbie-kay-dives-into-with-the-topic-of-depression-and-deals-with-the-social-stigma-associated-with-it

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Renee Duprey permalink
    August 18, 2014 4:54 am

    Thank you for this post!

  2. Joseph Jerminario permalink
    August 18, 2014 8:22 am

    Now I understand fully how you help so many of us here with the messages you send. To now know what occurred inside your own family explains why you care and love your fellow man and woman. May God continue to bless you and yours as well as all of us to prosper and live life knowing God has a hold of us.

    • September 15, 2014 3:32 am

      Thank you Jospeh. I’ve been praying for you and concerned as I haven’t seen you post for awhile. I hope you are doing ok! Blessings to you!!

      • Joseph Jerminario permalink
        September 15, 2014 5:17 am

        I am doing much better since finding you and your Facebook and WordPress pages. They have helped me overcome some very hard times in my life. The reason for me not having posted lately is that I have a few operations on both my hands which has limited my ability to post and reply. So please understand it was nothing personal or dramatic for not hearing from me for a while. Thank you!!

      • September 16, 2014 2:08 am

        I’m so glad to hear you are doing better Joseph, though I am sorry to hear about the operations on your hands. I will be praying for you healing. I didn’t take anything personal, just wanted you to know that I had thought about you and prayed for you and hoped you were ok. Blessings to you!!

  3. Rose Daley permalink
    August 19, 2014 10:49 pm

    Bless your heart Debbie

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  4. October 12, 2014 3:12 am

    God bless you, Debbie😍

Leave a Reply

